What Is Your Image?

All of us have morning routines for the day.  Hopefully, part of the routines include Bible reading, prayer, and spending time with our Lord.  The routine of spending time with Him should be the most important part of our routine for beginning the day.  This time provides opportunities for Him to help us readjust our inner being for this day as well as for eternity.  He is able to rearrange our heart, mind, and spirit so that we reflect Him in our lives every day.  In Genesis 1:27, we are told  “God made us in His image”, yet, do we reflect His image in our appearance on the inside as well as on the outside?

My daily routine also includes an outward preparation for the day.  Every morning I look in the mirror to check if my hair is properly combed and brushed, at least as best I can make it.  This is the same routine for any make-up I apply.  Then the mirror reflects if my clothing is modest, clean, and appears to match in color and style.  Why?  I suppose some people would call this pride. That could be part of the reason, although I pray not.  It’s just I believe my outer attire should demonstrate what Jesus desires my inner attire to reflect in my heart, mind, and spirit.  It is of the utmost importance to show Jesus from the inside of my life and not just how I look on the outside.

Once, while attending a camp meeting, I found this message written as “graffiti” on a wall of a girls’ dormitory.  This poem has been an important reminder for me.  Perhaps, you may desire this reminder also.

Portrait of a Christian
Not only in the words you spoke
Not only in your deeds confessed
But in the most unconscious way
Is Christ expressed.
Is it a beautiful smile,
A holy light upon your brow,
Oh, no, I felt His presence,
When you laughed just now –
For me it was not just the truth you taught
To you so clear, to me, so dim
But when you came to see me
You brought a sense of Him.
And from your eyes He beckoned me,
And from your lips His love was shed,
Till I lost sight of you
And I saw Christ instead.
(Anonymous)

~ Sue Lauter

One thought on “What Is Your Image?

  1. This poem was written by Kathleen Chambers, daughter of Oswald and Biddy Chambers who are best known for the devotional book “My Utmost for His Highest.” Kathleen wrote the poem about her mother.

Leave a Reply

