A Gem Worth Remembering

I recently had some down time so I attempted a reorganization of my Preaching File Case. I carry it with me when on the road, and it tends to get a little disorganized.  The side pockets were filled with scraps of paper containing tidbits I thought at the time were worth saving.  Some of them were gems, but I also wondered why I had saved some of the others.  One such ‘gem’ is included here. I hope it is as meaningful to you as it has been to me.

 I was regretting the past
And fearing the future.
Suddenly my Lord was speaking:
“My name is I AM”

He paused. I waited. He continued,
When you live in the past
With its mistakes and regrets,
It is hard. I am not there.
My name is not I WAS.

“When you live in the future,
With its problems and fears,
It is hard. I am not there.
My name is not I WILL BE.

“When you live in this moment,
It is not hard. I am here.
My name is I AM.”

~ Helen Mallicoat

A prayer for today:  Today, Lord, let me live in this moment. I am content to know that your name is I AM. This thought helps me to neither regret the past nor fear the future.

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

