The Coins of Time

How difficult it is to define the word ‘time’.  I found the definition in Webster’s New Dictionary interesting and slightly humorous. Time – a period during which things happen. 

My thought is that life happens in units of time. Scripture provides many interesting views of the brevity of time. 1 Chronicles 29:15 says, “our days on earth are as a shadow.”  Job 7:6 says, “My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle.”  Job 9:25 states, “Now my days are swifter than a runner: they flee away.”  Psalm 39:5 reports, “Behold thou hast made my days as a hands breadth.”  James 4:14 gives us one of the best known pictures by stating, “For what is your life? It is even a vapor, that appeareth for a little time and then vanisheth away.”

I find it helpful to think of the units of time allotted to us as coins. As we make our probationary journey through life, the coins of time are spent. Allow me the privilege of sharing a poem I wrote to accompany a sermon about how two men in scripture spent their coins of time.     

The pocket of life is filled but once
With the precious coins of time.
Each person is free to spend them as they see fit
On the ridiculous or the sublime.

The coins pass quickly through our hands
And no one has the power
To tell just when the last coin will be spent
At Late or early hour.

‘Now’ is the only coin you hold for sure
Be careful where you lay it down.
Tomorrow you may search the pocket
And no coin in it will be found.

Oh, don’t be like King Saul and cry, ‘I’ve played a fool
I should have counted the cost.
I may have gained the things of this world
But my eternal soul I’ve lost!’

You can chose to be like the Apostle Paul
When you lay your last coin down.
You can finish your course, you can keep the faith
And you can receive a crown.

As you hold the coin of ‘this moment’,
May I ask, what is your plan?
Please, here and now, make the choice
And place it in the Savior’s hand.

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

