Traveling Companion

prof bibleRecently I had the opportunity to speak at the Global Impact Celebration of the First United Methodist Church in Tuscaloosa, Alabama. I finished the five-day conference at 12:15 on Sunday afternoon. The van was packed and ready for a five-hour trip to Bayou La Batre, Alabama, where I was scheduled to speak at 6:00 that evening.  The week’s travel necessitated staying seven nights in four different places. I am absentminded on my best day, but with such a hectic schedule I am prone to forget and leave things behind.

When I arrived home in Wilmore, I had left behind a most valuable possession – my Bible. I have many Bibles, but this one has been with me many years. It contains notes and sermon outlines that render it invaluable to me.  I was near panic when I sat down to reconstruct the events following the last time I remembered having the Bible.  I determined that I had left it at the Eldridge’s house on Dauphin Island, the last place I had stayed before heading home. The house has graciously been provided as a place of refuge for Sue and me when we’re in the area. I called Pam and asked her to check for the Bible the next time she made the 25-mile trip to Dauphin.

A couple of days later, Pam called and had the Bible. She commented that the Bible showed a lot of wear and tear.  She said, “It looks well-traveled. It would be interesting to know where all its been”.

Those words were the catalyst for a lot of memories. That old Bible has been my ‘travel companion’ across the USA and around the world. China, Japan, Kenya, Uganda, Congo, Peru, Bolivia, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Tahiti, Jamaica, Samoa, St. Croix, Barbados, Antigua, St. Lucia, Curacao, Aruba, Ireland, England, Hawaii, Tahitii, and a myriad of other places flooded through my mind.

In all places and at all times this Bible has served as “a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path” ( Psalm 119:105 ).  This ‘travel companion’ has been by my side through out life’s journeys. And I am sure it will be with me to the end. I want its companionship on every expedition I take. I love God’s Word! (Click link for previous blog post.)

You may ask me why my travel companion is so essential. Let it speak for itself:

“God’s laws are perfect. They protect us, make us wise, and give us joy and light. God’s laws are pure, eternal, just. They are more desirable than gold. They are sweeter than honey dripping from a honeycomb. For they warn us away from harm and give success to those who obey them” (Psalm 19: 7-11 – TLB). 

Do you have such  ‘travel companion’? The voyages of life can be fraught with danger!

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

