You Can’t Get There from Here

Houston HighwayFor the last several weeks I have been treated at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. The greater Houston area has a population of about five million and a bewildering maze of highways. I was lost from the beginning. I believe I have at least as good a sense of direction as most people, but after the first few days of confusion I was losing confidence. I chanced to read the AAA Guide Book on Houston and things became clearer. The book reads as follows: “Before tackling the freeway system, it is wise to study a city map. Freeways encircle and crisscross the city; names often change with the direction. The major city access routes spiral out from central downtown, not adhering to a north-south or east-west format.”  Say what?

I was feeling a little like Thomas must have felt as Jesus shared with the disciples about His pending death on the cross (John 14:2-6).  Jesus told the group, “I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also. And where I go you know, and the way you know.” As I faced the bewildering labyrinth of Houston’s highways, I sensed a little of Thomas’ concern: “Thomas said to Him, ‘Lord, we do not know where you are going, and how can we know the way?’ Jesus said to him, “ I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

The Scriptures give us the ‘Blessed Assurance’ that Jesus is the way home to the place He has prepared for us. What a comfort to know that in the midst of a confusing world directing us to go this way or that way, we have a reliable and trust-worthy way, through Jesus, to our heavenly home. He is the Way!

One of my favorite passages of scripture is Isa. 35:1-10. Verses eight and nine are especially relevant to this devotional:  “A highway shall be there, and a road, And it shall be called the Highway of Holiness. The unclean shall not pass over it, But it shall be for others. Whoever walks on the road, although a fool, shall not go astray. No lion shall be there, nor shall any ravenous beast go upon it; it shall not be found there. But the redeemed shall walk there” (NKJ).  Redeemed people will walk on the highway of holiness, from which all moral filthiness will be excluded, as well as “ravenous lions of Satanic malignancy” (Wycliff-p.633). On that roadway even the simple and unwary traveler, once redeemed and born again, may travel without becoming lost.

You can get from where you are to heaven by the new birth and following Jesus. He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life.

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

