What Can I Give Him?

give my heartAt times when I think of all that the Lord has given me, I blush with embarrassment considering what I’ve given Him in return. He left His place by the Father’s side, set aside His home in Heaven, took a frail human body, and dwelled among us. He was despised, rejected, and ridiculed. Beaten and battered, He gave His life a ransom for our sin.

What have we given Him? Often a faltering walk, half-hearted devotion, ungrateful attitude, and sub-power giving of our material possessions are examples of what we’ve often given Him. We are prone to skip public worship when there is something we’d rather do; not to mention the little private time for devotions that we give to Him. As I struggle to convey my thoughts about my shortcomings, two songs come to mind that give expression to what’s in my heart.

One is a contemporary prayer chorus we sing at the church I attend:

What can I give Him, poor as I am?
If I were a shepherd I would bring a lamb;
If I were a wise man I would do my part;
Yet what can I give Him? Give Him my heart

The other is an old hymn I used to sing in church as a boy:

“Give Me thy heart,” says the Savior of men, Calling in mercy again and again;
“Turn now from sin, and from evil depart, Have I not died for thee? Give me thy heart.”
“Give Me thy heart,” says the Spirit divine, “All that thou hast, to my keeping resign;
“Grace more abounding is mine to impart, Make full surrender and give Me thy heart.”
 

Let us this day determine to give Him what He so deeply desires – our heart.

Jeremiah 24:7, “Then will I give them a heart to know Me, that I am the Lord; and they shall be My people, and I will be their God, for they shall return to Me with their whole heart.”

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

