The Spring of Life

Picture1

John 4:14 – “But whoever drinks from the water that I will give him will never get thirsty again – ever! In fact, the water I will give him will become a well of water springing up within him for eternal life.”

The above picture was taken during my first semester at Asbury University. My girlfriend and I went on a walk around the campus one Sunday afternoon. We came upon this retention pond, and on the edge of it was a bench, so we sat to take a break. As we were sitting there the Lord began to show me something: first of all I know you’re probably wondering that this is an odd time for the Lord to speak, but we as Christians should always be sensitive to His presence wherever or whatever we may be doing. As I sat there and looked at this small body of water and smelled the refreshing scent of it, I began to see some similarity here to a Christian’s relationship with Lord. To the left of me I noticed a four-inch pipe expanding out over the water with nothing coming out of it. In fact, the few times I have been up there since, I have never seen water flowing into it, but yet the water level stays the same and the fountain keeps flowing. What keeps it sustained?  Shouldn’t this reflect the fountain of water in our lives also?

In John 4, Jesus comes upon a Samaritan woman who daily comes to the well to draw water. As we all know, we continue to get thirsty – especially when it is hot outside, but this kind of water only satisfies our physical bodies for a time, and then we return for more.  It’s a never-ending cycle for us. Jesus in return offers something better to the woman, something that within itself produces a spring that will never cease to flow for eternity. This water He gives saturates the very being of our soul and re-hydrates our bodies spiritually on a day-to-day basis to tackle what the world throws at us. We are physically and spiritually made (1 Corinthians 15:44b “If there is a natural body, there is also a spiritual body.”). God has given us the water that feeds both aspects. Don’t dehydrate yourself spiritually – drink deep from the water that He freely gives to those who love Him, and live, for He is the source of life.

Revelation 21:6-7, “And He said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and Omega, the Beginning and the End. I will give to the thirsty from the spring of living water as a gift. The victor will inherit these things, and I will be his God, and he will be My son.”

~ Ryan Harrison

Ryan is a young man from Bayou LaBatre, Alabama, who is living with Sue and me this summer. He just finished his first semester at Asbury. He and another Bayou boy were called to preach a couple of years ago in a camp meeting that I was preaching in south Alabama. I am encouraging him to use some of his evening time to do a couple of devotionals for the NHIM website.  (~ Brother Roy)

Leave a Reply

