Casting

castingThere are many times in the scripture where the word ‘cast’ is used. Webster’s New Dictionary defines ‘cast’ as an action verb meaning “to throw or fling, to hurl, to toss”. Usually the word ‘cast’ is used in the New Testament in connection with throwing or tossing a net to catch fish. “And as He walked by the Sea of Galilee, He saw Simon and his brother casting a net into the sea” (Mark 1:16).  “And He said unto them, ‘Cast the net on the right side of the boat, and you will find some.’ So they cast, and now they were not able to draw it in because of the multitude of fish” (John 21:6).  Most of us, when we hear the word ‘cast’, have a mental picture of a fisherman throwing a net out to encircle fish.

I want to consider a slightly different picture related to the word ‘cast’.  The one I want to focus on is found in 1 Peter 5:7: “Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.”  Recently, my daughter pointed this verse out to me. Our conversation centered on the fact that we are invited to ‘cast’ our cares on God.  We discussed the fact that we often take things to the Lord and then carry them away with us again.

There is a refrain in an old gospel song that says, “take your burden to the Lord and leave it there.”  That’s sound advice. We must have enough faith to believe that once we have given a burden to the Lord, He is going to take care of it. But, what particularly struck me about 1 Peter 5:7 is the phrase “casting all your cares upon Him, for He cares for you.”  Casting is not a passive verb. It is an action verb. We are to throw burdens and cares onto the strong shoulders of the Lord.

When we cast our cares on Him, we must truly believe that He cares and that He will carry what we cast on Him. God’s word tells us in Isaiah 41:10: “Fear thou not; for I am with thee; be not dismayed; for I am thy God; I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of My righteousness.”

When the cares of life seem more than we can bear, we must not shrink intodepression and inactivity. It is time to take action. It is time to “cast all of our cares upon Him”.  Across 54 years of ministry, I have proven His care over and over again.

As I face tomorrow, I take great comfort in knowing the Lord’s promise, “And even to your old age I am He; and even to hoar hairs will I carry you: I have made, and I will bear; even I will carry, and will deliver you” (Isa. 46:4).

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

