A Born Loser

born loserIn a recent conversation, I heard someone say, “He’s a born loser.” Perhaps I have even been guilty of repeating that inappropriate phrase myself. I know better, but somehow it occasionally seems to works itself into my speech. Let me set the record straight: I do not believe some are born winners, nor do I believe some are born losers. I do, however, believe that we are all born ‘choosers’.

We win or lose by the choices we make. God created us creatures of volitional choice. We have been created with ‘free will’. Certainly a part of what the scripture means when it says we were created in Gods image, is that man is an intelligent being capable of rational thought. God has then set us free to be choosers.

Let me offer a few of the well-known scriptures that support my observation. Joshua 24:15“…choose you this day whom you will serve…”  Deuteronomy 30:19“ I call heaven and earth to record this day against you, that I have set before you life and death, blessings and cursings: therefore choose life that both you and seed may live.” Proverbs 1:29 speaks of those who “did not choose the fear of the Lord.”  The psalmist said, “I have chosen the way of truth” (Psalm 119:30). 

If I rise to great heights in the Lord or fall into the pits of perdition, it will be because of the choices I have made. The Lord certainly loved John, and scripture refers to him as the disciple whom Jesus loved. But I believe that He loved Judas no less. If a person resists the grace of God and succeeds in making a shipwreck of their life, it is done by the choices they make. We do not serve a vindictive God who predetermines whom He will assign to hell. It is not a question of could the Almighty God do it , but rather would He do it. The whole ethos of scripture stands against such a position.

  • “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” John 3:16
  • “The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some men count slackness; but is long suffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.” 2nd Peter 3:9
  • “And the Spirit and the bride say, ‘Come.’ And let him that heareth say, ‘Come.’ And let him that is athirst come. And whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely.” Revelation 22:17

No one is born a winner. No one is born a loser. Everyone is born a chooser.

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

