A Robe of Pure White

egretI was out early one morning on Dauphin Island. I love to watch the island come alive at first light. A beautiful white Egret, standing in the waters edge, caught my attention. Its snow white feathers were dazzling in the morning sun. How beautiful is God’s creation! A phrase from scripture popped into my mind: “…even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these” (Matthew 6:29).  After few minutes passed, the Egret took flight and soon disappeared toward the morning sun. 

How wonderful to know that our souls can be as white as that Egret. Isaiah 1:18 proclaims, “’Come now, and let us reason together’, says the Lord. ‘Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be like wool.’”  The word scarlet in this verse recalls the picture of our sins as “hands full of blood” (v. 15). God’s grace and power can make such bloodstains as white as snow.  (See Romans 3:21-26.) 

Moments of wonder, worship, and praise, followed the Egret’s flight. Old hymns flooded my mind. Verses from “The Cleansing Wave” by Phoebe Palmer cause my spirit to soar. “I see the new creation rise, I hear the speaking blood; It speaks! polluted nature dies – sinks ‘neath the crimson flood.  I rise to walk in heav’n’s own light, Above the world and sin; With heart made pure and garments white, And Christ enthroned within.” These refrains were soon followed by the chorus of “Whiter Than Snow”: “Whiter than snow, yes, whiter than snow; Now wash me and I shall be whiter than snow.”

My heart also resonated with the phrase from another hymn: “I gave Him my old tattered garment, He gave me a robe of pure white” (“The Windows of Heaven Are Open”).” What a blessed exchange He has offered! He will take our old tattered garment of sin and give us a blood-washed robe of pure white. As believers, one day we shall be like the Egret and fly away toward the Son. “Let us be glad and rejoice and give Him glory, for the marriage of the Lamb has come, and His wife (the church) has made herself ready. And to her it was granted to be arrayed in fine linen, clean and bright, for the fine linen is the righteous acts of the saints” (Revelation 19:7,8). 

Do you have your robe of pure white? Are you ready to take your heavenly flight? If so, rejoice and again I say rejoice. If not, the words of Isaiah 1:18 are for you.

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

