Inertia: A Body at Rest

inertiaThe sun was warm and there was a gentle breeze as I watched the beautiful birds at the feeders from my daughter’s veranda in South Africa. I was settled in on a chase longue and was so relaxed I did not want to move. I laughed to myself as I thought, “I’m gripped by inertia.” For some strange reason, my mind flashed back to my seventh grade Physical Science class nearly 60 years ago. In reference to inertia, I recalled Newton’s First Law of Motion, which basically states that a body at rest will remain at rest unless an outside force acts on it. So I just sat there as time passed and I did nothing. My body stayed at rest.

The principle of inertia is also evident in the spiritual world. The scripture teaches, “And as it is appointed unto men once to die, but after this the judgment” (Hebrews 9:27, NKJ).  How often do men, when faced with the certainty of death and judgment, sit and do nothing about their eternal destiny! Many people seem to be gripped by ‘spiritual inertia’.

May I share an admonition from scripture? “Therefore we must pay closer attention to what we have heard, lest we drift away from it. For since the message declared by angels proved to be reliable and every transgression or disobedience receiver a just retribution, how shall we escape if we neglect such a great salvation” (Hebrews 2:1-3, ESV).

I cannot play the piano. I’ve often wished I could. It would be a valuable asset in my ministry. How did I arrive at this state of musical inability? I never hated a music teacher; never tore up a hymnbook; never defaced a piano! All I did was sit and do nothing. I simply made no effort to learn, although I had many opportunities to do so.

If you are not a believer, please know that you are provided many opportunities by a God that does not want you to perish, but desires that you come to repentance (2 Peter 3:9). It is not necessary to be actively engaged in wickedness. To be lost, you just have to neglect God’s offer of salvation.  Please let the Holy Spirit help you overcome ‘spiritual inertia’ and call out to the Lord.

  • “For the grace of God hath appeared to all men.” (Titus 2:1, KJV)
  • “For by grace are you saved through faith; and that not of yourself; it is the gift of God.” (Ephesians 2:8, KJV)
  • “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” (John 3:16, KJV) 

If you are an inactive believer, perhaps the words in 2 Peter 1:5-9 (KJV) are for you. “And beside this, giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; and to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness; and to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity. For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that you shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ. But he that lacketh these things is blind, and cannot see afar off, and hath forgotten he was purged from his old sins.” 

Don’t be Victimized By Inertia

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

