I Feel Like Dancing

ostrich danceOn an African savannah, I observed an ostrich dancing his heart out. Someone said he was showing off for the ladies.  Maybe so, but he seemed to me to be dancing for the sheer joy of dancing. He was celebrating life.

King David often expressed moments of joy in life by singing, playing musical instruments, and dancing. He encouraged others to do the same. An example may be found in Psalm 149:2-5 (KJV)“Let Israel rejoice in Him that made him: let the children of Zion be joyful in their King. Let them praise his name in the dance: let them sing praises unto Him with timbrel and harp. For the Lord taketh pleasure in His people: he will beautify the meek with salvation. Let the saints be joyful in glory: let them sing aloud in their beds.”  To this day, in Hasidic Judaism, it is believed that dance is a tool for expressing joy and is believed to have a therapeutic effect: It purifies the soul, promotes spiritual elation and unifies the community.

Physically, I am not a dancer. In a secular sense, meaningless contortion of the body to a musical beat is not my thing. However, there are times when I am overcome by the joy of my salvation and my life in Jesus. I just feel like dancing ‘in my spirit.’ Filled with joy and praise, I worship Him with all that is in me. Like that old ostrich, I just want to dance for the sheer joy of my redemption and all of the blessings God has given me.

If life at times seems mundane; if your burdens seem a little to heavy; if joy is missing from your days, try this remedy. Read Psalm 146 through Psalm 150. Maybe then you can join the ostrich and me and we will, in our spirits, dance our little hearts out.

Let’s Just Praise the Lord!

~ Brother Roy

One thought on “I Feel Like Dancing

  1. Thank you for this powerful devotion. Tears came to my eyes and a smile on my face! In addition to the verses that you referenced; I thought of Zephaniah 3:17. God dances, too! Thankful for His joy.

Leave a Reply

