Get the First One Right

morning prayerAs time goes by and the years pile up, I find that even the easiest of tasks can present a challenge. Recently, I was getting ready to go to the store, and I put on a fresh shirt. When I finished buttoning the shirt, I hurried on my way, stopping momentarily in front of the hall mirror. I apparently had started one buttonhole off and proceeded to the bottom. There was about three inches of leftover shirt hanging out! Thank heavens – I caught my error before going out the door.

There seems to me to be a ‘life lesson’ here. If we start the day off misaligned, then the further into the day we get, the more skewed things become. The secret to a good day is starting off in the right ‘buttonhole’.  The right place to start each day is in the presence of the Lord. In Psalm 5:3, David begins his day with the Lord: “My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O Lord; in the morning will I direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up”. There is also great wisdom in starting the day by taking Solomon’s advice: “In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths” (Proverbs 3: 1, KJV). Starting the day with prayer was a pattern in the life of Jesus. For example, Mark 1:35 (KJV)“And in the morning, rising a great while before day, He went out, and departed to a solitary place, and there prayed”. 

Lord, help us to establish the pattern of starting each day with you.

Help Us To Get The First One Right !

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

