A Mighty Fortress

ft gains cannonStrategically located at the east end of Dauphin Island is stately old Ft. Gains. The massive wall and bulwarks silently keeps vigil over Mobile Bay. In a distant yesterday, the great cannons were positioned to fire huge cannon balls at enemy ships that dared attempt to enter the bay. The enormous guns have been mute for nearly 150 years. The stamping feet of garrisoned troops are no longer heard scrambling to the ramparts, replaced by the moaning wind and occasionally the footsteps of school children on a fieldtrip.

As I stand and look up at those majestic old walls, the opening line of one of the most powerful hymns ever written comes to mind. My heart sings with Martin Luther, “A mighty fortress is our God, a bulwark never failing.”  He undoubtedly was moved by Psalm 18:2.  David penned a beautiful psalm of thanksgiving for God protective care: “The Lord is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.”

The world in which we live is as dangerous and threatening today as it was in the days of David or Martin Luther, ‘For still our ancient foe doth seek to work us woe.’  However, we are not to spend our days intimidated and fearful! Paul tells young Timothy, “For God has not given us the spirit of fear; but of power and of love, and of a sound mind”  (2 Timothy 1:7).  John assures us of this marvelous truth: “There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear; because fear hath torment” (1 John 4:18).  We do not in our own strength confide. “For in Him we live, and move, and have our being” (Acts 17:28).      

Visions of the grand old fort serve to stir my awareness that the Lord is my rock and my fortress. I can move through my days, no matter how menacing they may seem, because I have the right man, Jesus Christ, on my side.  He will win the battle. I have His word on it.

A Mighty Fortress Is Our God, A Bulwark Never Failing

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

