The Lighthouse

lighthouseWhat picture comes to your mind when you hear the term ‘lighthouse’? For most people, the image of a tower on the coast with a bright warning light on top is likely to be the picture. If you are from Bayou La Battre, Alabama, it may be different than folks from other parts of the country. The Lighthouse Restaurant is a longstanding tradition in that community. It is synonymous with the biggest and best crab claws to be found anywhere.

While those images flash across my mind, the one that lingers is far more meaningful to me. In my mind’s eye, I see the Cross of Jesus Christ.  When I think of His death in my place, my heart rejoices. To think that the Light of the World died in sin’s darkness that His light might illuminate my lost soul is too wonderful to fully comprehend.

A wonderful gospel song by Ronnie Hinson tells my story:

There’s a lighthouse on a hillside that overlooks the sea.
When I’m tossed it sends out light that I might see.
But the light that shines in darkness will safely lead us o’er;
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse my ship would be no more. 

And I thank God for the lighthouse I owe my life to Him.
For Jesus is the lighthouse and from the rocks of sin.
He has shown a light around me that I can clearly see;
If it wasn’t for the lighthouse tell me where would this ship be?

From my childhood, I still remember the little white Mt. Zion Church singing Let The Lower Lights Be Burning:

Brightly beams our Father’s mercy
From His lighthouse evermore;
But to us He gives the keeping
Of the lights along the shore.

Let the lower lights be burning!
Send a gleam across the wave!
Some poor fainting, struggling seaman
You may rescue, you may save.

PRAYER: Lord, dark the night of sin has settled, loud the angry billows roar. Eager eyes are watching longing, for the lights along the shore. May this little light of mine shine and shine and shine!

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

