A Golden Highway

golden highwaySunsets on coastal waters can be beautiful. I was standing on the west end of Dauphin Island sometime back as the sun was sinking below the horizon. It looked like a golden highway stretching from my feet to setting sun. It was an inspirational sight. As I begin to develop the devotional thought I want to share here, let me recount a humorous Kentucky mountain story. It relates to my devotional thought.

Arze came down to the bank of the north fork of the Kentucky River. He was set to ‘catfish’ all night. Tricky Tom, a cousin who had earned his nickname, was on the other side fixing to do the same. The night grew dark, and strange sounds were coming from the woods around them. Tom had a powerful flashlight and shined a beam across the water to Arze. He said, “Arze, it sure is dark and scary over here. Why don’t you walk across the beam from my flashlight and come over here and fish. There was a long pause as Arze cogitated on the proposition. Finally, Arze said. “You must think I’m pretty stupid. I’d get about half way across and you’d turn off the light”.

Like Tom and Arze in the story, it sometimes gets dark and scary for us in this world. Thankfully, God has made provision for all who are in the darkness of sin; for all who live under the fear of death.

  • Isaiah 9:2 (NKJ), “The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; those who dwell in the land of the shadow of death, upon them a light has shined.”
  • Psalm 27:1, “The Lord is the light of my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?”
  • John 1:4 (NKJ), “Then spoke Jesus to them again, saying, ’I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.”

Unlike Arze, we don’t have to worry about the light being turned off. Isaiah 60:20 assures us that the ‘light’ will never go out.  The Lord will be our everlasting light. There is a golden highway stretching from our feet to heaven. Isaiah 35: 8:A highway shall be there, and a road. And it shall be called the Highway of Holiness. The unclean shall not pass over it, but it shall be for others. Whoever walks the road, although a fool, Shall not go astray.” 

Lord, let me walk in the Light. Set my feet on the golden ‘Highway of Holiness’. Let me follow it all the way to heaven.

~ Brother Roy

One thought on “A Golden Highway

  1. Yes and Amen!!! Thank you Brother Roy for the wonderful message!! Sending you and Miss Sue much love and many prayers!

Leave a Reply

