South Africa Team: My Little Children

tyler“My little children” is an endearing phrase found on several occasions in scripture. 1 John 3:18 and Galatians 4:19 serve as two examples. To this very day, my heart takes comfort in the children’s song, ‘Jesus Loves Me’.  How wonderful are the words, ”Little ones to Him belong, They are weak but He is strong.” 

Our NHIM South Africa Team provided me with a picture that I will take into eternity. Tyler, a powerful young man on our team, was carrying a small girl on his shoulder. She was one of the little ones from Kya Sands (a squatter’s camp), where we were working.  He was so big and strong, and she was so small and weak. It was obvious, she felt safe and secure in his arms.

I am so glad the heavenly Father considers us His ‘little children’. I have experienced His strength and care across my lifetime. From my earliest memories even until now in my old age, I have felt secure in His strong arms. The words of Isaiah 46:4 are especially dear to me as the infirmities of old age beset me: “And even to your old age I am He, and even to hoary hairs will I carry you: I have made, and I will bear: even I will carry, and deliver you.” 

My friends, I pray that you are this very moment, like the little girl in the picture, safe in His sheltering arms. Just for a minute, let the burdens and concerns of the day fade away. Take comfort in the words of the beautiful gospel song, “Sheltered In The Arms Of God”: 

I feel the touch of hands so kind and tender.
They’re leading me in the paths that I must trod.
I’ll have no fear for Jesus walks beside me,
For I’m sheltered in the arms of God.

So let the storm clouds rage high,
The dark clouds rise, 
They don’t bother me;
For I’m sheltered safe within the arms of God.
He walks with me, and naught of earth shall harm me,
For I’m sheltered in the arms of God.

Soon I shall hear the call from heaven’s portal,
“Come home my child,
It’s the last mile you must trod.”
I’ll fall asleep and wake in God’s sweet heaven
Sheltered safe within the arms of God.

So let the storm clouds rage high,
The dark clouds rise, 
They don’t bother me;
For I’m sheltered safe within the arms of God.
He walks with me, and naught of earth shall harm me,
For I’m sheltered in the arms of God.

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

