A Vapor

teakettleThe coffee drinkers at Fitch’s IGA (sometimes humorously referred to as “the Sanhedrin”) were discussing the brevity of life. Over the last few months, our group had suffered the loss of three good friends. I brought the words in James 4:14 NKJ into the conversation: “For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away.” I shared memories of my days as a little boy in my grandmother’s kitchen. She always had a teakettle on the stove. I’d watch with amazement as the steam rose from the spout and soon disappeared. Dean Cook, retired Navy Chaplin and Free Methodist Pastor, made an astute observation. He said, “It didn’t really disappear. It simply changed form.”

Recalling my elementary school science, I nodded in affirmation. I remembered that matter could neither be created nor destroyed, but it could change forms – such as a solid becoming a liquid or a gas. Although I have long recognized this principle, I had an epiphany. The same principle in the physical world also applies in the spiritual world. Once our Creator breathes into a person’s nostrils the breath of life, they become an eternal soul.  Death may cause to person to disappear from physical view. But the truth is that they only seem to disappear. Like a vapor, a person may change form, but their soul lives on forever. 

To me, our discussion brought new light to Paul’s words in 1 Corinthians 15:50-57 NKJ:Now this I say, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God; nor does corruption inherit incorruption.  Behold, I tell you a mystery. We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed – in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye…For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal must put on immortality…”  

Jesus said, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live. And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die”  (John 11:25-26 NKJ). The Apostle Paul states in Acts 24:15 that there will be a resurrection of the dead, both of the just and the unjust. 

We Shall All Be Changed! Are You Ready?

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

