The Curly Stick

curly stickOld age and high mileage have taken a toll on my body. Recently, I saw an eye surgeon about removing a cataract. The next day I went to the orthopedic doctors to see what might be done for my right knee. The left knee has already been replaced. My CPAP machine also needed adjustment, so another doctor’s visit.

The cataract has since been removed and the CPAP adjustments made. The knee problem continues to be especially problematic. It has drastically restricted my mobility. Until I can get the needed surgery, I am walking with a cane. In my eastern Kentucky home, a cane such as mine is called a ‘curly stick’.  It is crafted from a small sassafras bush that had a vine wrapped around it leaving deep circular scars. It is sturdy as well as a natural work of art. It assists in keeping me upright.

The curly stick has proven to be a real help to me. The scripture speaks of spiritual ‘helps’ that the Lord provides in times of need. Paul speaks of ‘helps’ (Acts 27:17, KJV) that were used to help hold his ship together in a violent storm. Paul also notes other helps as a part of the Lord’s provisions for believers (1 Corinthians 12:28). The Lord desires to strengthen us in our times of weakness. How precious to hear the Lord say, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness” (2 Corinthians 12:9, NKJ).  The words from the Psalmist reflect my sentiments: “Hold thou me up, and I shall be safe: and I will have respect unto thy statues continually” (Psalm 119:117).

While I struggle with knee problems, my curly stick helps give me stability and keeps me from falling. When storms and trouble assail us spiritually, we have helps from the Lord.  What wonderful assurance we can find in the words of Isaiah: “I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand” (Isaiah 41:10, NKJ).

I CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST WHO STRENGTHENS ME!  (PHILIPPIANS 4:13)

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

