The Hurrieder I Go

hurriederThe pace of life seems to get faster and faster with each passing year. Perhaps I am slowing a bit, but I know the speed of life is accelerating.  The old adage, ‘The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get’, certainly seems to apply. The competitive and rapid pace of the world will crowd our prayer life and prevent us from spending needed time with the Lord.

Sometime in the past, I read a poem that has stayed with me ever since. I want to share it with you:

I got up early one morning,
And rushed right into the day;
I had so much to accomplish
That I didn’t have time to pray.
Problems came tumbling about me,
And heavier came each task.
“Why doesn’t God help?” I wondered.
He answered, “You didn’t ask.”
I wanted to see joy and beauty,
But the day toiled on, gray and bleak.
I wondered why God didn’t show me.
He said, “But you didn’t seek.”
I tried to come into God’s presence,
I used all my keys at the lock.
God gently and lovingly chided,
“My child, you didn’t knock.”
I woke up early this morning,
And paused before entering the day;
I had so much to accomplish,
That I had to take time to pray

~ Author unknown

 “Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.” (Matthew 7:7)

~Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

