A Cloudy Sunrise

cloudy sunriseOne of my favorite places on earth is Dauphin Island. It had been nearly a year since I had been able to spend any time on the island. As we pulled in late in the afternoon, I soaked up the sights, smells, and sounds of the island with joy. I must admit that with all the delight I experienced upon arrival, I was already looking forward to the morning. I love to watch the sunrise especially over the water (see NHIM.org archives – ‘Sunrise’).

I was up early the next day and walked out onto the deck to face the east. To my dismay, the sky was dark with a heavy cloud cover. There would be no visible sunrise. I sat down and gazed toward where the sun would have risen if not obscured by the gray clouds. A few minutes of reflection caused a shift in perspective. I knew that above the heaviest cloud cover, the sun is always shining. I have taken off in an airplane on cloudy rainy days. Within minutes you climb above the clouds and the sun is brightly shining. I took comfort in knowing the sun was shining, even if hidden from my sight.

The days of our lives can be like that. At times, circumstances can obscure our view of the Lord. Disappointment and discouragement can settle in. If we are in a right relationship with the Lord, we will realize that the Lord is there with us although obscured from vision. James’ epistle gives insight, “My brothers and sisters, when you have many kinds of troubles (clouds), you should be full of joy, because you know that these troubles test your faith, and this will give you patience. Let your patience show itself perfectly in what you do” (James 1:2-4, NCV).

A great Old Testament account provides us with a remarkable record of God’s presence, even if we don’t see Him. An enemy king was seeking to destroy the Prophet Elisha. The enemy king had sent a great army against the prophet.  “And when the servant of the man of God arose early and went out, there was an army surrounding the city with horses and chariots. And his servant said to him, ‘Alas, my master! What shall we do?’ So he answered, ‘Do not fear, for those who are with us are more than those who are with them.’  And Elisha prayed, and said, ‘Lord, I pray, open his eyes that he may see.’ Then the Lord opened the eyes of the young man, and he saw. And behold, the mountain was full of horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha” (2 Kings 6:15-17, NKJ).

Elisha knew that God’s unseen army was far more powerful than any visible army. May we likewise be reassured by the Lord’s promise, “And, lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the world” (Matthew 28:20). When clouds of adversity obstruct our view, we need to ask the Lord to open our eyes and let us see that “He who is in you (us) is greater than he that is in the world” (1 John 4:4, NKJ). 

cloudy sunrise 2

Above The Clouds, The Son is Shining

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

