Birds of a Feather

James's Flamingo

I’ve spent many wonderful hours on the veranda at my daughter’s house in Johannesburg, South Africa.  Lori’s backyard fence boarders a large field surrounded by trees. The warm temperatures and a pool of water make an excellent habitat for birds. Her bird feeders are also a magnet for an amazing variety of beautiful birds. I have noticed that they usually come in grouped together in like species.

Recently, while enjoying the large number and variety of birds, I had a flash back to my teenage years in the hills of Eastern Kentucky. I attended a very small elementary school for grades one through eight. Then I had to leave the security of my small community to attend a large central high school several miles away. Like most teenagers, I wanted to be accepted and have friends. For some reason, I gravitated toward some unsavory ‘friends’.

My mother noted the trend and called me into our kitchen for a ‘talk’. She expressed her concern about the company I was keeping. That occasion was the first time I had heard the adage, “birds of a feather flock together”. She talked to me about some bad mannerisms I was picking up and the negative image of the boys I was hanging out with. She was fearful I was developing a bad reputation because of my associations.

Scripture speaks to this issue.  First, allow me to share Biblical advice concerning bad company:

  • “Be not deceived, bad company corrupts good morals” (1 Corinthians 15:33, NKJ)
  • “Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the path of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful(Psalm 1:1, KJV)
  • “Do not be envious of evil men, nor desire to be with them” (Proverbs 24:1, NKJ)
  • Do not be unequally yoked with unbelievers. For what partnership has righteousness with lawlessness? Or what fellowship has light with darkness?” (2 Corinthians 6:14, NKJ)

Scripture also speaks to the wisdom of association with good company:

  • “Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise,but the companion of fools will suffer harm” (Proverbs 13:20, ESV)
  • “I am a companion of all who fear you, of those who keep your precepts(Psalm 119:63, ESV)
  • “That thou mayest walk in the way of good men, and keep the paths of the righteous” (Proverbs 2:20, KJV)
  • “I was glad when they said unto me, let us go into the house of the Lord(Psalm 122:1, KJV)

If we ‘flock’ together with God’s people, we find acceptance by people that really matter. We can know that we are pleasing to God and that heaven will be our home. “Fear not, little flock; for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom” (Luke 12:32, KJV).

To What Flock Do You Belong?

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

