Our Daily Bread

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I find myself often repeating the Lord’s Prayer: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen” (Matthew 6:9-13). 

From time to time, I like to focus on a particular phrase in the prayer. In this instance it is, “Give us this day our daily bread ”. The first and most obvious consideration is a grateful petition for daily substance. The thought that so much of the world does not have enough to eat is a sobering reminder to me of God’s goodness.

I also want to humbly appreciate the fact that my daily bread is not so much earned or deserved as it is a gift from God. Scripture reminds me of this truth, “Otherwise, you may say in your heart, ‘My power and the strength of my hand made me this wealth.’ But remember the LORD your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth, and so confirms his covenant, which he swore to your ancestors, as it is today” (Deuteronomy 8:17, NIV).

Finally, I know that there is physical bread and there is spiritual “bread”. Then Jesus declared, ‘I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty’” (John 6:35). The words of a gospel song by John Kee echo in my heart: “Bread of heaven, bread of heaven, feed me ’til I want no more”. We need both the physical bread and spiritual bread on a daily basis.

GIVE US THIS DAY OUR DAILY BREAD

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

