A New Thing

new thingIn Isaiah 43:19, the Lord says, “Behold, I will do a new thing.” One of the greatest joys in my Christian life has been the ‘new things’ that He shows me almost daily. Words from the wonderful hymn “Great Is Thy Faithfulness” by Thomas O. Chisholm echoes in my heart. How often I sing, “morning by morning new mercies I see.” I love the scripture on which the hymn is based: “It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness” (Lamentations 3:22-23, KJV).

A few days ago, while doing morning devotions, a new thing came to me. The writer of the devotional page mentioned a song with which I was not acquainted. It was Gordon Jensen’s beautiful song, “He’s As Close As the Mention Of His Name”. The song title has become one of those lines or phrases that plays again and again in my mind. Some things that stick in our minds can become irritating, but not this one. How wonderful to think that each time during the day that I mention or think of His name, He is right there! While I have been aware across time that His presence was with me, now it has a new expression.

Most things in life to which we devote time and attention have a tendency to grow routine and lose their luster. They may even become boring and cause our interest to fade. Not so when walking with Jesus. The relationship is meant to get richer, fuller, and deeper with the passing of time. After 50 plus years, I testify that another ‘new mercy’ just came my way. The expression, “He’s as close as the mention of His name” has brought newness and freshness to my spirit.

Are you walking in newness of life? Are you eager to greet the coming days knowing that new mercies await? If so, let us praise the Lord together. If not, please know that He is as close as the mention of His name. He will hear and answer your prayers for His presence in your life.

“Even so we also should walk in newness of life.” (Romans 6:4)

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

