“Soon Come” / “Just Now”

watching the clockI love the two expressions, ‘Soon Come’ and ‘Just Now’. They come from two different parts of the world where I have ministered, but convey the same meaning.

Life moves at a slower and more random pace in many places outside of the USA. In both Jamaica and South Africa, the opening time of a business, the time of an appointment, or the beginning time of a church service is often little more than a loose approximation. Impatience or irritation means little when you call to someone’s attention that a scheduled time has come and gone. You generally get a smile and hear ‘soon come’ in Jamaica or ‘just now’ in South Africa. These expressions simply mean, “Calm down. Things will happen sooner or later” (generally later).

When Jesus spoke of the end of time and His second coming, His friends and foes alike questioned Him about when these events would take place. Succeeding generations have continued to question when these things would come to pass. Today, prophetic teachers and religious leaders are still trying to set the date. Hundreds have made predictions they claimed were based on scripture and research only to see those fail-proof dates come and go to the dismay and disappointment of their followers. People persist even today on trying to set a date in spite of the fact that Jesus Himself said, “But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, but My Father only” (Matthew 24:36).

Is Jesus coming back? To this I answer a resounding, Yes! How can I be sure? I am sure because of what God’s word teaches. I am sure because of what Godly men and women have taught across the centuries. I am sure because of the witness of faithful people whose spiritual lives I have personally observed. I am sure because as a true believer “… we (I) have the mind of Christ” (2 Corinthians 2:16, NKJ). I am sure because of the witness of His spirit within me. I am sure because my personal experience of walking, talking and communing with the Lord has affirmed it.

Yes, I believe He is coming again! Ask me when, and I will respond ‘soon come’ or ‘just now’. And that’s just the way it is. I believe the fact that the events will take place is more important than exactly when. “Therefore you also be ready, for the Son of Man is coming at an hour you do not expect” (Luke 12:40, NKJ).

He Will ‘Soon Come’ – He Is Coming ‘Just Now’

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

