His Holiness

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

One morning I was watching a beautiful sunrise in South Africa. As the first rays of golden light touched the Father’s creation, my humbled heart began to sing with Isaiah, “Holy, Holy, Holy, is the Lord of hosts: the whole earth  is full of His glory” (Isaiah 6:3). In those moments of astonished consciousness, adoration and praise came like waves of the ocean upon my soul.

Three thoughts overwhelmed me that morning. They will forever remain a part of my spiritually reality. As never before, I was:

  • Awed by His Holiness. I think I’ve always had a basic understanding of His holiness. But that morning, my understanding reached a whole new level. I will call on Isaiah’s account to put into words what my feeble vocabulary will not allow: “I saw also the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up, and His train filled the temple.  Above it stood the seraphims…” (Isaiah 6:1-2).
  • Aware of My Sinfulness. In the resplendent radiance of God’s presence, I suddenly felt dirty, like a leper covered with filthy rags. Relying again on words from Isaiah: “Then said I, Woe is me! For I am undone; because I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips: for mine eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts.” (Isaiah 6:5).
  • Amazed at His Grace. I had never felt so vile and depraved as in those moments. But then, I was amazed at a grace that could bridge the gap between my wretched ungodliness and His perfect holiness. As when one of the seraphim took a live coal from off the altar of God and touched Isaiah’s lips, I sensed Jesus’ touch on my lips and my soul. In my spirit, I heard Him say, “Lo, this hath touched thy lips; and thine iniquity is taken away, and thy sin taken away” (Isaiah 6:7). What amazing grace! It is a grace greater than our sin.

Let All The Inhabitants Of The World Stand In Awe Of Him (Psalm 33:8)

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

