I’m Gonna Live Forever!

woman-on-beachIt started as a typical Traditional Worship service in a small town Methodist Church. But midway through the service, an unscripted event took place. An older lady stepped into the center aisle and walked to the front of the sanctuary with a gait noticeably touched by the passing years. She turned and faced the congregation with a broad smile and began to joyfully sing this chorus:

I’m gonna live forever,
I’m gonna die, no never
Jesus died on a tree for me
And I’m gonna live forever

As she sang, tears of joy ran down her cheeks. She raised her hand and began singing the chorus a second time. At this point, I noticed that most of the congregation was singing with her.

I could not restrain my own tears of joy as praise lifted heavenward from my heart. I was singing with her. A profound sense of worship settled in the sanctuary. There was an awareness that the presence of the Lord was with us. For a precious few minutes, the things of earth grew strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace.

Daily, I reside in an amazing certainty. Jesus said, “I am the resurrection and the life. Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live, and everyone who lives and believes in me shall never die” (John 11:25-26, ESV).

That morning for many in the congregation, John 3:16 moved from being words on a page to a present reality. The words came alive – “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life.”  Jesus concluded this discourse in the third chapter John with a question. He asked Nicodemus, “Do you believe this?” May I ask you the same question? Do you believe this?  If your answer is ‘yes’, then vicariously join me and the lady mentioned above and joyfully sing:

I’m gonna live forever
I’m gonna die, no never
Jesus died on a tree for me
And I’m gonna’ live forever

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

