What Does He See in Me?

tax collectorSometime back, I was having lunch at Asbury University, where I served on the faculty for 33 years. As friends and I were enjoying good food and fellowship, a group of students passed close by. I overheard one student emphatically ask of another, “What does she see in him?”

Hearing that question sent my mind hurrying back to the distant past when Jesus walked the earth. Gospel writers Mark and Luke both record the Lord’s encounter with a man named Levi. “After these things He went out and saw a tax collector named Levi, sitting at the tax office” (Luke 5:27, Mark 2: 14, NKJV). As the Master engaged Levi, the people around, like the students mentioned above, were asking, “What does He see in him”?

Levi was a tax collector. As such, he was considered by the Jews to be a traitor to their own people. He had joined the hated Roman overlords to assist them in collecting taxes. Tax collectors were considered to be religiously unclean and sinners of the most despised class. But Jesus saw something different in Levi. He saw Matthew, the man who would trade his extortioner’s pen for a brush that would paint many wonderful word pictures and unforgettable images of the Savior. He saw the man who would write the First Gospel in the New Testament. Jesus saw a man that tradition reports became one of the first Christian missionaries.

Reading accounts like that of Matthew or perhaps Gideon (Judges 6:11) sends goose bumps up my spine. These accounts underscore 1 Samuel 16:7 (MSG), “Men and women look at the face; God looks into the heart.”

Others surely must have wondered, as I have myself, “What does God see in me?” I cannot tell you what the Lord saw in me.  I do not know why He called me to follow Him. But this I know for sure, He called me to repentance and saved me. He allowed me to become a co-laborer with Him and help build His kingdom. For that I will always praise His name.

What does the Lord see in you? It is likely far different than what you see in yourself. Go to Him. Ask Him show you what He sees in you. Maybe He sees in you a Matthew, a Gideon, a missionary or a prayer warrior. The Lord has a place for you in His kingdom. He sees you differently than others do.

What Does God See In You?

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

