A State of Mind

still-waterThe 23rd Psalm certainly has to be considered one of the most loved passages in the Bible. How many times have you, like me, recited those opening verses: “The Lord is my shepherd I shall not want. He maketh me to lie down in green pastures. He leadeth me beside the still waters”? I want to direct special attention to the phrase, “He leadeth me beside the still waters”.

When my heart is troubled and I need to calm down, my mind seeks to retreat to a place of ‘the still waters’. When possible, I love to physically go to a quiet place by water’s edge. In an earlier NHIM devotional titled Still Waters, I spoke of such a place on Dauphin Island, Alabama. However, it is not usually possible to withdraw to a physical place. What can we do when our peace is disturbed and we cannot physically escape?

I have found that the solution is in knowing that ‘still waters’ is a state of mind as much as it is a physical place. In John’s Gospel, Jesus said, “I am leaving you with a gift–peace of mind and heart. And the peace I give is a gift the world cannot give. So don’t be troubled or afraid (John 14:27, NLT). We may not always be able to go to a physical place beside the still waters, but praise the Lord in our spirits we can all come to Jesus and find peace of mind and heart.

Jesus said, “I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33, NIV). Are you stressed, harried, anxious? Are your mind and heart troubled? Come to Him! He will lead you to the spiritual ‘still waters’ and give you His peace. He promised! And, The Lord is not slack concerning His promise, as some count slackness, but is longsuffering toward us…” (2 Peter 3:9, NKJ).

“The Lord will guide you always …to a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.” (Isaiah 58:11, NIV)

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

