Before You Were Born

before-you-were-bornA little boy stared into his mother’s eyes and asked, “How did you know my name was Timmy when I was born?”. That line appeared in a cartoon in our local newspaper. It triggered these thoughts for me. I believe God is ‘omniscient’ – all knowing. He knew me before I was born. God’s word says, “You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed” (Psalm 139:16, NLT). How amazing to think that of the several billion people on earth, God knows me. He can call me by name.

The Psalmist states, “He counts the stars. He calls them all by name” (Psalm 147:4).

Wow! Think about it. Scientists estimate there are anywhere from 100-400 billion stars in our galaxy. With the aid of the Hubble Telescope that now orbits the earth, scientists have estimated there are over 2 trillion galaxies the size of ours. It is mind numbing to consider that He calls all the stars by name.

Not only does God call the stars by name, but He can call us by name. Scripture has many examples of God calling individual people by their name, starting with Adam (Genesis 3:9), on to Hagar (Genesis 21:17), and then God says to Moses, “I know thee by name(Exodus 33:17). Again and again, the Father calls people by their name.

How wonderful to know that the Lord knows me, knows my name, and loves me. “Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand!(Psalm 139:6).

Jesus loves me! This I know,
For the Bible tells me so.

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

