An Unmarked Car

smokey in plain white wrapperRecently, I was traveling on New Circle Road, which is a by-pass around the business section of Lexington, Kentucky. Largely unnoticed, a plain white car was sitting on the side of the road. As I passed the white car, I observed an ‘official’ license plate and a long antenna mounted on the trunk. It was an unmarked patrol car. I quickly checked my speed. Thankfully, I was driving the posted speed limit.

I watched as the unmarked car darted out and separated a speeder out of traffic. The other drivers observing the speed limit continued on their way. For some reason, the incident reminded me of the words of Jesus recorded in the 25th chapter of Matthew. “When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the holy angels with Him, then He will sit on the throne of His glory. All the nations will be gathered before Him, and He will separate them one from another” (Matthew 25:31, NKJV). 

The Matthew account continues, “Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world” (v. 34). In this account, those who inherited the kingdom of heaven inquired as to why they were thought worthy of this great reward. Jesus responded, “…for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me” (v. 35-36). Those on His right hand seemed unable to recall those events referenced by Jesus: “Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’ (v. 37-40).

People in need are like unmarked cars. They have no flashing lights that say “Help me, in the name of Jesus.” If the love of the Savior has penetrated our hearts, our response to human need should automatically be to help. A true believer does not stop to calculate whether or not they will be credited for helping at judgment.

My prayer: Lord, please don’t let me get pulled over at judgment for failing to recognize the many ‘unmarked’ souls as I make my probationary journey of life.

~ Brother Roy

Leave a Reply

