Block This Caller

block this callerSolicitors and scammers seem to have a way of finding my phone number and ringing me at the most inconvenient time. I am glad for the ‘Block This Caller’ feature on my cell phone. I have the option of blocking further calls.

We have a similar option in the spiritual realm. Our God is a speaking God. Even a cursory review of scripture reveals multiple references of God speaking to man. However, the Lord created humankind with ‘free will’. We are people of volitional choice. We are free moral agents who can ‘Block the Caller’. Our all-wise God speaks to us for our own well-being, but we don’t have to listen.

An Old Testament reference serves as an example: “And the Lord spoke to Manasseh and his people, but they would not listen” (2 Chronicles 33:10). In the New Testament, the Apostle Paul points to men’s ability to block God’s attempts to communicate: “And even as they refused to have God in their knowledge, God gave them up unto a reprobate mind, to do those things which are not fitting” (Romans 1:28, ASV).

Psalm 139:14 says, “I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” The wonderful part of our creation is that we were created with free will by our loving Heavenly Father. We are free to choose His offer of love, guidance, and eternal life. Likewise, the fearful part of the way we are made is also our free will. God’s word says, “Today I ask heaven and earth to be witnesses. I am offering you life or death, blessings or curses. Now, choose life! Then you and your children may live” (Deuteronomy 30:19, NCV). We are free to listen and receive God‘s gift or free not listen and reject God’s will for our life. We don’t have to listen!  

Prayer: Lord, I want to hear from You. Please help me to listen for your voice. May I never utilize my free will to ‘Block the Caller’.

~ Brother Roy

Leave a comment